Feb. 26, 2020

HARRISBURG – Rep. Doyle Heffley (R-Carbon) today announced that safety grants totaling nearly $756,000 have been awarded to school entities in Carbon County.

The grant awards are as follows:

• Carbon Lehigh Intermediate Unit 21 – $307,321 for school safety officers, training, programming, security planning and equipment.
• Jim Thorpe Area School District – $308,507 for security planning and equipment.
• Lehighton Area School District – $40,000 for school safety officer.
• Palmerton Area School District – $35,000 for security planning and equipment.
• Panther Valley School District – $35,000 for assessments, training, security planning and equipment.
• Weatherly Area School District – $30,000 for security planning and equipment.

“These grants support school security improvements to ensure that students, faculty and staff have a safe learning environment,” said Heffley. “I am greatly disappointed with the governor’s proposal to drastically reduce funding for this important program in the next fiscal year and will be working to restore it.”

The School Safety and Security Committee awarded $53.7 million in meritorious and competitive School Safety and Security Grants to school districts, intermediate units, vocational-technical schools and charter schools across the state.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of a comprehensive school safety law passed by the General Assembly in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

Representative Doyle Heffley
122nd Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Andy Briggs
RepHeffley.com / Facebook.com/RepHeffley