Jan. 26, 2022

HARRISBURG – Safe Schools Targeted Grants totaling nearly $170,000 have been awarded to three school districts located in the 122nd Legislative District, according to Rep. Doyle Heffley (R-Carbon).

“School buildings that are safe and secure create an environment where students, faculty and staff can focus on learning,” said Heffley. “I am pleased our local districts are taking advantage of this funding opportunity to maintain or improve the safety programs they have in place.”

The funding awards are as follows:

• Jim Thorpe Area School District – $24,999 safety equipment grant.
• Lehighton Area School District - $59,940 school police officer grant (two years).
• Weatherly Area School District - $24,999 safety equipment grant and $60,000 school police officer grant (two years).

The grants aim to assist schools in reducing unnecessary student disciplinary actions and promoting greater productivity, safety and learning; and also enhancing anti-violence efforts between schools and parents, local governments, law enforcement and community organizations.

The three Carbon County school districts were among 303 local education entities statewide that shared in $8 million to increase school safety by purchasing equipment, enacting new programs, and hiring security personnel and school resource officers.

The Safe Schools Targeted Grant Program is administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education and funded by the General Assembly in the 2021-22 state budget. More than $40 million in grant funding has been awarded to schools statewide since 2015.